Olympicos amigos.

6 Aug

Good evening my interweb friends!
How is everyone today? Im great!
So what is everyone thinking about these things going on right now? You might have heard of them- its called the Olympics. And I, as an Englander like a few others in the world, am very excited about the Olympics 😀 I was there at the opening ceremony- well, not really; I was in my pyjamas with a cup of tea and a blanket on the couch for the 10,000 hours it felt that the countries were walking in (half of which I had never heard of in my life), and I was thinking at the end (at 2am when I had to be at work at 9-oops!) thinking about it and what I had just witnessed, for what would be the only time in my life, they say. At first, when I saw the opening ceremony, I couldn’t help –like many others- comparing it to the opening ceremony in china 4 years ago (I saw the highlights- bloody hell it was sparkly) and felt like, “that was it?”. But when talking about it with my friendlings over coffee (yes, we are sophisticated 😉 ) it kind of dawned on me how spectacular it was. See, England is one of the many countries which has a true history, and I think we were right to choose to honor that and show it to the world, and not give in to the pressure to put on a big avent garde song and dance. I just hope people from other countries understood the concept and were able to learn something from it, but sadly, from the people I have spoken to, they have not. But the actual games themselves are amazing. I have pretty much sat on my couch with my bi-daily (is that a word?) punnet of blueberries watching the gymnastics (my favourite!) and the diving and the swimming and the basketball (also my favourite) and ive just been in awe of everything, and it takes a while to take it in. all of the athletes giving everything to their 10seconds or so to win something for their country, and how they have trained all day every day for year, just to take part in that one race, or to do that one gym routine and its so amazing and incredible how people from all around the world can come together, forget all differences and conflicts in the world, and just come together to take part in friendly sporting events. Its mind blowing, but also humbling at the same time.
However, there was one incident on twitter (if you haven’t followed me yet- please do 😉 @RachaelHannahx3) during the opening ceremony that really got to me. It shouldn’t, but it did. Now, I am British, with American citizenship, and a jew. So I am impartial to countries, but I have that special support for team GB, Team USA and Team Israel (I have a lot of friends in Israel) and when I was on twitter, you know, when people make a comment on every country that walked in like “who are they?” “where the hells that country?” “love their sexy outfits” (they all looked like air hostesses- like you see in the virgin atlantic commercials? I couldn’t get past it :L) but when it got to Israel, I was like WOOO YEAAAH ISRAEL, as you do, but some people on twitter were like “Israel, I spit at them” and “f*ck off you pieces of sh*t!” and other very not nice things, and I was like, how could one person, who has had no personal offence towards them from the whole country, take such a hate to a certain group of people from a certain place?? It was so disrespectful, and kind of made me lose hope in many parts of the human race, and it was just disgusting. Ok that’s my spiel.
So yeah- im going to be so upset when the Olympics are over (I still haven’t gotten tickets D: ) because it seems that the weeks leading up to the Olympics and while the Olympics are here, England is such a happy place. Especially living so close to London, everyone is on such a high right now, with all of the towns being decorated with 2012 stuff and its just so cute- whats going to happen when everyone goes home? Its going to be so so depressing 😦
Well- enjoy your summer guys! (im still waiting for my first hot day so I can go to the beach for like the first time in years!) I’ll see you next week!! 😉
Again- follow me on twitter @RachaelHannahx3
And I’ve just joined this new craze thing that’s going on on twitter right now? Its called ask.fm, It seems like that formspring thing people (admittedly, I had it, too, as you know :P) so if you want to ask me any questions (no barriers, no such thing as a stupid question!) just shoot it this way- http://ask.fm/RachaelHannahh
Ok see you next week 🙂
(I like that smiley. You should never deprive (is that the right word?) a smiley of its nose.

what do you think about the olympics?? comment below 😉

Moo.

Leave a comment